Monarch Airlines……never again!

I mean never….not if they paid me…..absolutely refuse to ever fly with this bunch of idiots again.

So……there I was 2 weeks ago in need of a quick visit to the UK. I hunted for flights that would arrive when I needed them to at an airport that was close to where I needed to be.

I found a reasonably timed flight to. Gatwick airport and back. Sadly they weren’t cheap and it came to more than £320 for the ticket.

So I arrived at the airport for my flight…..I overheard the check in staff tell the couple in front that the flight was delayed. I checked in and was handed a letter apologising for the delay and telling me I could check the flight status on line. The check in staff told me there was a 3 hour delay but when I checked my boarding pass it was 3.5 hours.

I managed to contact my sister to tell her that instead of 23.55 I would now be landing at about 4am. Not the greatest news as we had an appointment in Cardiff at 2pm the following day.

I then discovered that there were only 9 people on the flight. One person had received a text about the delay but the rest of us knew nothing. As the letter had come for. Luton. Monarch were obviously aware of the delay much earlier in the day. At about 10pm we were offered some food and a drink. All that was on offer was pizza…..not great for someone who is dairy I tolerant but there was no alternative on offer.

I tried to check the flight status on their website…but it didn’t exist. It wasn’t showing on the Dalaman website and the Gatwick website said they had no idea when it would arrive.

We were given no assistance, and no information. We finally decided we would head to the gate even though there was no confirmed departure time and all the boards just showed the flight as delayed. We finally took off 4 hours late…..we were told we could sit anywhere and were offered a free drink…but at 1.30am you are really too tired to drink anything.

If I hadn’t booked a return flight I would have refused to ever use them again at that point.

So the return…..check in was chaos….2 flights checking in at the same queue with only 2 manned check in desks. I queued for nearly an hour leaving me just 20 minutes to run around duty free before boarding started. Everyone was at the gate on time but we didn’t board until 20 minutes later. We weren’t told we were delayed but the flight didn’t take off until 30 minutes after the time on the ticket.

The plane was the most cramped I have ever been on. No room under the seats for hand luggage and the overhead lockers stuffed full. My hand luggage was 4 seats away. I am really short and my feet don’t touch the ground…usually I put them on my hand luggage bag but I was left swinging them for 4 hours. Anyone over 5 foot tall had their knees pressed up against the seat in front.

There were literally 100 very small children on the flight……who all cried in unison during take off and landing. The parents obviously though that there would be room to spread out and the wouldn’t really have a wriggling under 2 year old on their lap for 4 hours. I was whacked on the head by the same chocolate chip muffin 3 times, had my hair pulled several times and my back kicked at regular intervals for the whole 4 hours.

I can honestly say it was the worst flight I have ever been on. I really wouldn’t recommend them to anyone. Sadly my sister has already booked with them to come and visit me in a months times. What could possibly go wrong? Oh…..they have already emailed to say the flight will be delayed 2 hours…… So it will be my turn to do the airport run in the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

