Sutlaç (Turkish Rice Pudding)

I found several recipes for this delicious dish but none of them were quite exactly what I was looking for. In the end I used a couple as a base and adapted it to my own tastes and quantities.

2 cups of short grain rice. I asked a few friends and they suggested Baldo and as I had some in the cupboard it was easier to use it.
1.5 pints of milk ( see PS at the bottom).
200 ml of single cream
1 cup of sugar
.5 teaspoon of salt
Vanilla essence (I used a sachet of vanilla sugar)

wash the rice and drain
Place in a pan with the salt and cover with cold water…about and inch over the rice
Boil and then lower to simmer and cook until the water disappears
Add 1.5 pints of milk and heat until bubbles appear then lower to simmer until rice is fully cooked.
Add sugar and creamer. Give it a good stir bring to bubbling point again stirring continuously.
Turn the heat off and cover. Leave to stand for 10 minutes.
Ladle into individual bowls or a large oven proof dish.
Sprinkle with cinnamon powder.
Chill in the fridge.

20140306-161906.jpg

I’m adding a PS….when it was hot from the pan it was excellent but once it had chilled it was a little bit too dense. If I was going to chill it again I would add an extra 1/4 pint of milk. It tasted wonderful and was eaten in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

