Stitching & Bitching

Early in 2012 I realised that I have some very solitary hobbies – I love to read, cook, knit and crochet.  The only problem with these things is they are things you do alone.  It is very easy when the weather is bad and you don’t work to sit at home by yourself – doing something you love but not speaking to anyone for hours on end.  

I realised that there must be others like me who might like a bit of company and a chat.  In the UK there was a Stitch & Bitch group in my local coffee shop once a week and I wondered if Stitch & Bitch would be welcomed in Turkey.  I spent a couple of weeks looking for a suitable venue – I wanted somewhere quiet with comfortable chairs and without beer swilling expats hanging around. 

I went with my husband to vist a friend of his and discovered he was the chef in the perfect location.  After a bit of a chat with the owners about the high prices on their menu we agreed a price for cay (Turkish Tea) and I was ready to find some people to join me.  I though I would start with a Facebook Group and that as it turns out was all I needed – I had 15 members by the end of week one and it has kept growing. Not everyone comes to our meetings but we usually get somewhere between 10 and 15 of us. 

I didn’t know any of the people who had joined.  I opened the group to knitters, crochetters, embroiders and cross stitchers….all portable activities that can easily be done anywhere.   The first week we had a good crowd – the average age of the group is probably around 50.  What a nice group of people we are – all English speakers and all happy to share our hobbies. 

I have learned so much from the ladies in this group.  They know short cuts I’d never even thought about and between us we seem to know an awful lot.  We have people who make their own patterns, we have people who follow patterns – we are all sociable and love our weekly meetups.  We Stitch, we chat about life, the universe and everything, have lots of coffee and tea and lunch if we want it.  The meetings are supposed to run from 10.30 to 1.30 but we have been known to sit there until 3pm on occasion.  We just get on really well. 

A few people have come and decided they don’t like it – that’s fine I have no problem with that – we have had visitors – holiday makers who have heard about the group and asked if they can come along and again with so much knowledge – we met a fantastic felt making lady who was making bags,  Hopefully she will join us for 2 weeks next year too. 

We agreed from the start we would meet weekly in the winter and then stop when it got too hot…..we thought possibly at the end of April. But no one wanted to stop so we have carried .

Over the months we have become really good friends and have even managed some group day trips. 

For people interested in joining our group we are under Stitch & Bitch Fethiye on facebook – there are lots of free patterns and links to great websites.  it would be lovely to see you at our meetings but we are also happy for you to use our page to find information or inspiration. 

Happy stitching people.  

  

Leave a Reply

