Caramelised onions

I love these and are something a bit different to add as a vegetable to any meal. I like them with roast chicken

I cook mine on the hob but you can put them in the oven. On the hob they are very quick to do and I usually do them fairly last thing whilst I am making gravy and slicing the meat.

Peeled and sliced onions……..as many as you need…I use one small one per person and usually cook for 4 people.
4 tablespoons of white vinegar….I’m using apple at the moment as it’s cheap and easy to get here
generous knob of butter
4 tablespoons of brown sugar…….if you can’t get it make your own……I use white sugar and pekmez (molasses syrup) to make mine.

Melt the butter in frying pan. Add the onions and cook on a medium heat until they are softening and perhaps a few crispy edges.

Add the vinegar and the sugar and give it a good stir. Turn the heat up….keep stirring. The sauce will thicken and look very dark. Taste…..add extra sugar and cook for a bit longer if you think they need it or serve. If you are cooking for a lot of people adjust the ingredients to match the quantity of onions you are using.

Leave a Reply

