A way to a mans heart is through is stomach………. Red cabbage recipe

So those of you that know me will know that due to a crazy year my wonderful husband and I have spent far more time apart than we would normally. There is good news and bad news……. He is leaving his Mums today to come home. Great news yayyyy! The not so good news is he is driving back with his brother and 2 nephews. The drive takes about 30 hours and the family will stay for months….so whilst I am looking forward to seeing him I’m not going to get the alone time I planned.

So tomorrow night there will be 5 of us for dinner. I’ve thought about welcome home food and whilst I usually cook Turkish I thought I would treat them to a big roast dinner with all the trimmings. So the menu is roast chicken, green beans, roasted carrots, potatoes and baby onions, my special red cabbage and gravy.

I thought I’d share the cabbage recipe with you…it is truly very delicious

Red cabbage…..enough to feed however many people you are cooking for. shredded
1 medium onion peeled and chopped finely or grated
3 or 4 apples peeled cored and diced cookers or eating it doesn’t matter
Salt & black pepper for seasoning
3 tablespoons of Apple vinegar
4 teaspoons of sugar or the sugar lump equivalent
100 ml orange juice
100ml water
1/2 a level teaspoon or a çay kaşik of cinnamon and the same of ginger
2 large garlic cloves peeled and finely chopped.

Melt the butter in a big pan. Add the onions and the apples and fry until the onions are clear and the apples are softening. Add the garlic and when you can smell it add the vinegar, sugar and the cinnamon and ginger. Give it a good stir. Add the cabbage stir it add a sprinkle of salt and pepper and add the orange juice and the water. Mix it well and bring to boil, turn down and simmer for 20- 25 minutes until cabbage is cooked.

20131115-201533.jpg

One thought on “A way to a mans heart is through is stomach………. Red cabbage recipe

Leave a Reply

