My new bag…………………………….

I am shoes girl – I love them – I can’t get enough of them – I have shoes for every occasion, all colours, all styles you name it I probably have it.  At one time I used to buy handbags to match, especially with evening shoes…………..and then I decided to emigrate to Turkey.  I gave myself a very serious talking to, sold half my shoes and gave some away to charity and a large number of bags too.   A new life awaited and I needed to de-clutter before I could get started.

It was hard but I finally settled on just 125 pairs of my favourite shoes that would make the journey with me and probably about 20 handbags.  Now there are people out there who are thinking that if I sold over half my shoes I must have had a serious problem and there are others who will be thinking – 300 pairs is about right.

In the 3 years I have been here I have bought probably 5 pairs of shoes and 2 pairs of boots.  I used to buy more pairs than that in a month in the UK.  Now I only buy them if they are practical, I know I will wear them more than once and I really, really love them.  The weather is so nice here I tend to wear flip flops most days so there is really no need for 100s of pairs of shoes.  Also in the 3 years I have purchase 2 handbags and thrown one away, and I have been given a rather nice Prada bag by my mother and a Radley bag by my best friend.

Winter is coming – the Prada is a handbag and difficult to carry on my scooter, the Radley is beautiful but not quite big enough for my Ipad as well as everything else I like to carry.  The search has been on……………..I’ve looked on line, I’ve trawled the shops, I’ve looked in magazines all in pursuit of the perfect bag.  Leather, a neutral wear with anything colour, big but not huge, a zip and a flap to keep it secure and make sure the water can’t get in.  I saw some nice Cambridge satchels on some UK websites for about £90………….very tempted and then I saw it……………in an expensive handbag shop in Fethiye but the 1/2 price sale sign lured me through the door. There it was the most beautiful, soft tan leather Mulberry messenger bag……………….. it was love at first sight.  Then I found out  it was 590 lira – about £200.00……….. I tried not to look shocked and  resigned myself to leaving it there and went and looked in other shops.  Nothing………….there were some possibles but they all fell short when compared to the Mulberry one.

I went back to look lovingly at it a week later………  bravely I asked how much it was……………. only to find it was included in the half price sale…….now only 295 lira.  Still expensive but not as bad as it had been.  I went home to think about it.  I made a pros and cons list………….the pros won……………I thought about it really hard…. it wasn’t much more than the Cambridge bags I liked in the UK.  Eureka…..a lightbulb came on……..Cambridge bag @ £90 plus return flight £250, £100 for car hire and £20 to get to the airport and back here……… Mmmmm I’d actually save money if I got the Mulberry.

I went back this Thursday……..had a lovely chat with the lady in the shop, haggled a bit and ended up paying about £85.00 for it………………………  we are very happy together……..we have been for some scooter rides – wind in my hair and ruffling the flap gently as we zipped along the cost road,  a trip to the market, and the beach……….. I know we have a long and happy future together.   I am so lucky a new handbag and a new husband in less than 3 weeks.  Life is good folks…….life is very good.

Leave a Reply

